100 Day Cosmetics No-Buy Project Challenge

useup items 2

Hello lovelies,

in my New Year’s Bucket List post I have mentioned a no-buy which is very necessary for one reason only – I have so much untried things (especially nail polish). I’ve noticed that, as I started with on-line ordering, I don’t appreciate the items I got as much as the items I bought in person. I’m so excited while I’m waiting for the package, but once it arrives I look at the items, think to myself “Oh, so pretty!” and put it aside. Believe it or not, I have over 120 untried and unworn nail polishes, with over 50 on their way to me. If I changed the nail polish every day, I would have one nail polish per day for half a year.  I don’t even have to mention make-up. I used my Naked palette only several times – just to test the shadows for the review. I have a bunch of other, barely used eyeshadows. And I want more [facepalm].

I went on similar projects before – and they were semi-sucessful. I hope I’ll manage to complete this one. Anyway, I’ll go on a 100 days no-buy to actually enjoy my collection and to recover from December shopping.

This basically means that I won’t buy any cosmetic product (with the exception of Essie Spring and Resort mini cube and Naked 3, but only if I can get 20% off) for 100 days – which means no shopping until April 10th (that’s approximately 15 weeks, if I did my maths well). If I do well, I may extend it to the beginning of May, but I’ll talk about that when the time comes.

I didn’t put any other items on my allowed list – if I eventually run out of shower gel, shampoo or something similar, I’ll repurchase it, but the sad thing is that I can do the whole no-buy without making any essentials purchase, because I managed to hoard them too.

I don’t think I’ll have trouble surviving it because I’ll be getting nail mail the whole January (all the purchases were made in December) so this will get me through. I can always count on the super long Dance Legend shipping, too :)

I will post several updates during this period – I think weekly updates will be boring, but twice a month or every three weeks should do.

Here’s a closer look to some of the items:

useup items

useup items 1

In addition to no-buy, I went through my stash and picked out 24 items to spend. They are mostly older, almost finished product which only take space in my collection.

I’m going to list them quickly and give a bit of an explanation.  (from top row, left to right).

useup items all

Guerlain Jeu de Nacres eyeshadow quad. I have hit the pan on all the shades. At first I planned to consider it finished once I hit the pan on all the shades (since it is a LE), but there’s quite a lot of eyeshadow left so I’ll continue to use it until I use it up completely.

Guerlain Tendre Aurore blush. This is my current highlighter/contour product. It has become crumbly and there’s not much product left.

Dior Diorblush Strawberry Sorbet. I swear this blush has found a way to self-regenerate itself. As much as I try, I cannot finish it. I hope 2014 will be its final year.

Guerlain Brun Mordore quad. It is a basic warm neutral palette. I doubt that I’ll finish it, but I hope I’ll manage to hit the pan on the two lighter colours.

Guerlain Cherry Blossom blush. There’s still a lot of product, so I hope on hitting the pan on this one too.

Guerlain Perles des Mers quad. This is a cold neutral quad and I hope I’ll hit the pan on the pinky beige and light grey shade. It will be pretty hard, because each tiny pan is the size of a full-sized eyeshadow, meaning 1.5 or 1.8 grams.

Sisley Phyto Ombre Eclat in Dune. It is a lovely eyeshadow, but I have hit a major pan on it so I want to finish it completely.

YSL Poudre de Soleil bronzer. I’ll be very sorry when once it is gone. This is my favourite bronzer – not too shimmery or orange. There’s still a lot of product left around the edges, but it is becoming really hard to pick it up with the brush.

T. Le Clerc Poudre Dermophille in Banane. I have found it while clearing out my make-up storage. It originally comes in a pretty metallic box, but I have transferred it to an empty Artdeco loose powder box.

Guerlain Nacres des Mers pressed powder. It is another item which is impossible to spend. I’ve been using it almost every day and didn’t even make a dent in it.

Lancome Effacernes concealer. I know that this will be gone soon. There’s almost nothing left and I have to squeeze really hard to get the product out of the tube.

Oriflame Preppy Chic eyeshadow trio. I picked it because it is small and there’s actually a chance that I’ll finish it this year.

YSL lipstick in Rose Dahlia. I love this lipstick, but it is half-way done and I have several similar shades waiting their turn.

Guerlain Kiss Kiss Baby Crystal. This is a nice lip balm, but I had it for a while so I want it out.

Oriflame Giordani Gold Jewel lipstick. This is another nice nude, but I have others.

Guerlain Kiss Kiss Strass Rose de la Reine. It is a nice sparkly nude shade, but I have many others (plus it is almost done).

Oriflame Color Drop lipstick. It is a very sheer nude, but it is quite small so I’ll probably finish it.

Guerlain Kiss Kiss Essence de Gloss Ambre. This is a nude, almost finished lipgloss.

Oriflame Giordani Gold Mascara. Another mascara that needs to be finished.

Sisley Phyto Gloss. I find this shade slightly too dark, so I put it on this list.

Urban Decay 24/7 eyeliner in Bourbon. Since there’s not much left, I thought I might as well spend it.

Urban Decay 24/7 eyeliner in Zero. Same as the above.

Yves Rocher Lipgloss. It is a nice tomato red gloss which looks great over MAC Lady Danger, but I don’t like the taste so on the list it goes.

Essence Eyeshadow Base. This is my favourite budget friendy eyeshadow primer (other is Urban Decay Primer potion). I already went through one and this one is also close to be finished.

I also have 5 nail polishes I want to finish but I didn’t take their photo. They are Max Factor Ruby Fruit, Eveline Mini Max (can’t remember the number) Look by Bipa Metallic Hologram, Sephora Pink Agate and Sephora Blue Sapphire.

As I have mentioned above, I don’t expect to finish all this stuff (although this would be great), but I hope at least 10 products will be out of my stash until the end of 2014.

To make it easier, I’ve put all these items in a separate box in which I only added a foundation. This way I can always have them close to my reach. I don’t have any other tip than this, but I’ll definitely share useful information.

Did you try any similar no-buy/Project X Pan projects? Were they successful?

Thank you for reading,

xoxo Tamara

6 thoughts on “100 Day Cosmetics No-Buy Project Challenge

Leave a Reply

