URBAN DECAY Naked Palette Swatch and Review (En attendant Naked 3 :) )

naked

Hello lovelies,

as you know, Urban Decay is launching Naked 3 palette. From the Naked 3 review and swatches on Temptalia, it is considerably more pink toned than the two previous and it will be available in the States in November. I’m glad I found out about it because I was debating getting Naked 2 which was, luckily, out of stock and which is very similar to original Naked palette which I have (plus it contains black eyeshadow which I rarely use). When I pay for a palette, I expect to use every shade and this wouldn’t be the case with Naked 2.

naked closed

Okay, back to original Naked palette. It is a very warm toned palette. It comes with a mini version of Urban Decay Primer Potion and an eyeshadow brush.

The brush is okay – it is very soft and applies the makeup well. The palette is made of cardboard wrapped in brown velvet which gets dirty easily and it is hard to clean later. It has magnetic closure.

The palette retails for 37GBP on hqhair, but I got a great deal – Naked and Naked Basic for 56GBP plus 20% off which means I got both palettes for around 45GBP. Unfortunately, such sets aren’t currently available, but feel free to stalk hqhair – they’ll probably restock soon.

Still, even at the full price, it is a great value. The palette contains twelve full-sized Urban Decay eyeshadows in the following shades:

naked back

It is very travel friendly and has a good variety of shades. I’d probably add another lighter eyeshadow and more satin or matte ones, but this palette is appropriate for a variety of looks – from neutral work appropriate look to sexy smokey eye. Here are all the shadows swatched:

naked swatch all

The quality of the eyeshadows is amazing – they are buttery soft and apply like a dream. All the shades are pigmented, although some are more than the other. The shadows wear well with the primer – over 12 hours. It is important to mention that I have super oily lids and without a primer nothing lasts for more than half an hour. With primer, I can get approximately 6-8 hours of wear from other eyeshadows.

The finish of the eyeshadow varies – some are matte, some are pearl, some are shimmer and some have glitter finish. I have separate the shadows in groups of three and I’ll talk more about each eyeshadow.

Virgin, Sin, Naked:

VIRGIN is a satiny light beige. Although it looks like, it is not completely matte. I like to use this shade in the inner corners of my eyes to highlight.

SIN is a pearly champagne with a hint of pink. It is a great highlighting shade.

NAKED is dark beige matte shade. I had no issues with applying it – mattes sometimes can be powdery, but this is not the case with naked.

Sidecar, Buck, Half Baked:

SIDECAR is a shimmery medium bronze brown. Quality wise this is one of my favourite shades. It is so pigmented and easy to apply.

BUCK is a medium dark matte brown. Again no complaints -perfect application and texture.

HALF BAKED is my all-time favourite summer eyeshadow. It is a pearly coppery bronze. I already have this shade in my BOS2, but I’m coming very close to hitting a pan, so it’s great to have a back-up.

Smog, Darkhorse, Toasted

SMOG is a medium dark bronze.

DARKHORSE is a brownish bronze with a bit of shimmer. It is slightly less pigmented than previously mentioned shades, but still very good

TOASTED is a shimmery pinky brown.

Hustle, Creep, Gunmetal

HUSTLE is a shimmery mocha

CREEP shimmery dark grey. This is probably the sheerest eyeshadow in the palette.

GUNMETAL slivery grey with glitter. It has a bit of fall out, but it is great for smokey eye.

Overall, I love this palette, although I’d prefer maybe more not so shimmery/pearly shades and more lighter eyeshadows, since those are the shadows I use the most. It is still a great value and a definite must-have.

Do you own any Naked and are you looking forward to Naked 3?

Thank you for reading,

xoxo Tamara

8 thoughts on “URBAN DECAY Naked Palette Swatch and Review (En attendant Naked 3 :) )

Leave a Reply

