BIODERMA Sebium AKN Purifying Correcting Care Review

I’ve been using this cream for quite some time – in fact, I have finished it a couple of days ago, so I decided that it is high time for me to write a review.

Bioderma Sebium AKN Purifying Correcting Care cream comes in a 30ml tube and retails for around $16. I have bought mine when thtey had it in the set with Sebium Micellar Solution and at the same time got 20%off, so I got quite a deal (just micellar water costs around $13).

The cream promises to clean out the pores and  minimize the production of sebum without drying the skin out. It sounds like a miracle but it doesn’t perform so miraculosly.

The cream has a very light, almost gel-like texture and light smell, which disappears immediately upon application. A little goes a long way. I needed approximately a pea-sized amount to cover the whole face.

I haven’t noticed any noticeable difference in clogged pores and the production of sebum. My skin has improved, but I can’t say that this is strictly because of this cream.  

However, I have to admit one thing – this cream won’t dry out your skin. I have dehydrated, but oily skin and soem creams really can make my skin flaky. It was not the case with Bioderma. It didn’t put additional moisture on my skin (but it isn’t supposed to do this), but my skin was never dry, dehydrated or felt tight.

You can apply it under make-up. I haven’t noticed that it prolongs the wear of make-up (but even if I put make-up on my naked face, it will last for at least 8 hours), but it doesn’t interferes with foundation.

Overall, I liked the cream, but I’m not sure about repurchase. There is also Bioderma Sebium Hydra cream which should moisturize. I have 5ml sample and I’d like to test this version prior to repurchasing Sebium AKN.

Bioderma Sebium AKN Purifying Correcting Care INGREDIENTS:

Aqua/water/eau, c12-13 alkyl lactate, citric acid, dipropylene glycol, cyclopentasiloxane, sodium hydroxide, glycerin, methyl methacrylate crosspolymer, salicylic acid, zinc gluconate, arachidyl alcohol, dimethicone, mannitol, xylitol, rhamnose, fructooligosaccharides, laminaria ochroleuca extract, ginkgo biloba leaf extract, dodecyl gallate, glycyrrhetinic acid, behenyl alcohol, ammonium acryloyldimethyltaurate/vp copolymer, allantoin, glyceryl stearate, peg-100 stearate, silica, xanthan gum, arachidyl glucoside, c30-45 alkyl cetearyl dimethicone crosspolymer, propylene glycol, caprylic/capric triglyceride, fragrance (parfum)

2 thoughts on “BIODERMA Sebium AKN Purifying Correcting Care Review

  1. I haven’t tried it as a spot treatment – I think it would be too weak for my skin, but I’m glad it worked for you.

    As for the skin improvement, it wasn’t anything dramatical. You can try it on the face, but you might want to be careful if your skin is sensitive.

  2. I got this as a sample from shoppers and I use it as a spot treatment when I get little pimples and it works like magic! I didn’t try it all over my face as a moisturizer.. maybe I should if it improved your skin?

Leave a Reply

