BY KILIAN Ambre Oud Review

Several days ago, I’ve had a surprise waiting for me in my mail-box. I have received a small 2ml sample of new by Kilian fragrance – Ambre Oud.

Oud has been popular for quite some time in the niche domain; however Ambre Oud is not a good oud representative. I cannot smell it at all. What I can smell is a warm amber, which dissolves into smokey vanilla. I’ve heard this fragrance described as a Montale-like and I would have to agree. It is very simple, understated fragrance – no complexity – just a pure warm mixture of amber and vanilla. I find it perfect for the transitional period, as it is not sickeningly sweet gourmand (and anything that contains vanilla my nose simply puts into the gourmand category).

Ambre Oud is very pleasant in its simplicity.

In the terms of sillage, this is not the best, especially compared to other by Kilian perfumes. Oeuvre Noire collection is much stronger and long-lasting. When I get a niche fragrance I expect it being so strong that I’ll last for days – for example, even after washing my hair with a shampoo, I could still feel the scent of Intense Tiare. On the other hand, Ambre Oud is gone after 10 hours.

I am very tempted by Ambre Oud, but the lasting power makes me to reconsider purchase.

—-

by Kilian Ambre Oud description (click on the picture above to enlarge)

3 thoughts on “BY KILIAN Ambre Oud Review

  1. I’m extremely inspired along with your writing skills and also with the structure on your weblog. Is that this a paid subject matter or did you modify it yourself? Either way stay up the excellent quality writing, it is uncommon to look a nice blog like this one nowadays..

  2. I appreciate your input.
    I haven’t replied earlier, because up to now my only experience with by Kilian collection were occasional testing. Recently, I’ve gotten more into Kilian’s fragrances, by properly testing them on the skin and I have to admit that I’m very surprised (in a positive way).
    Maybe it is because of the way the fragrance reacts on my skin, but his fragrances are rather unpredictible, although I think that they might be even more complex.
    Thank you for your comment

Leave a Reply

