MAKE-UP STASH INVENTORY (January 2012)

I think it’s high time for me to start to control my impulsive purchases and redirect the money I spend on cosmetics I don’t need on something else. I’ve had much more self-control before I started to get involved in beauty community. Before, I’d purchase something only when I would need it, but now I’ve been buying things only because they seem pretty or I think that I simply must have it (even though I’ll probably use it several times before the product is lost in my stash.

I don’t like feeling overwhelmed every morning when I’m doing my make-up with all of the products which I have. Sometimes it takes me literary 10 minutes only to decide which eyeshadow I should use. I’ve tried the concept of creating “looks” which would include several products and then wearing the look for the next week. It is a good concept, but this means that 90% of my stash sits there unused while I’m wearing the “look”.

I do not plan to use up all of my make-up. I’ll use eyeshadows only until I hit the pan (especially if it is a discontinued or LE product). The same goes with lipsticks. I always leave a millimetre or two of the lipstick in case I ever need to find a dupe. After that, I put the product in the original packaging and put it in my “finished products” drawer. I know this sounds a bit ridiculous, to keep the boxes after you have spent the product, but I have paid a lot for these products and I cannot imagine throwing the compact of, let’s say, Guerlain eyeshadow away.

I have taken a photo of all the items in my stash, for my reference (I’ll do the same the next year). Compared to the previous stash pictures, you can see that I have spent some items (yay! for me) and hit the pan on many others.

My make-up stash consists of the following:

2 liquid foundations (not counting the samples): Dior Airflash (transition foundation between spring and summer and summer and fall)

Clarins Everlasting (soon to be finished and replaced)

1 primer: Guerlain Meteorites Base Perfectrice

2 concealers: Lancôme Effacernes and Oriflame Absolute Concealer (only for under-eye area)

1 illuminator: Benefit High Beam

Compared to the spring stash pictures, you can see that Carita Voile de Beaute, Clarins Instant Perfect, Guerlain Issima Concealer, Urban Decay Primer Potion and Catrice Eyeshadow Primer are gone.

I have 2 bronzers (not counting the mini Dallas, which is a part of a set and used only for travelling): Guerlain Terracotta and YSL Poudre de Soleil. I have hit the pan on YSL, but I think it will take a lot of time to spend it completely.

4 blushes: Guerlain Divinora in#505, Dior Diorblush, Guerlain Cherry Blossom and Guerlain Tendre Aurore. I’ve hit the pan on Guerlain Divinora (but since it is discontinued, I rarely use it, so I count it as spent) and Dior. Guerlain Tendre Aurore blush is more of a highlighter and Cherry Blossom blush will be used only until I’m close to hitting the pan (since it is too pretty to use it up completely).

16 lipsticks (another one of my fetishes): Guerlain Kiss Kiss Baby in Crystal Nude, Rosy Nude and Rose Sunset, Guerlain Kiss Kiss Strass in Rose de la Reine, Guerlain Kiss Kiss in Rose Miami, Guerlain Rouge G in Gaela and Gaby, Guerlain Rouge G le Brillant in Brenda, Chanel Rouge Coco Shine in Chance, Chanel Rouge Allure Laque in Santal, Benefit Full Finish Lipstick in No Competition and Lady’s Choice, Sisley Phyto Lip Shine in Sheer Baby, Guerlain Kiss Kiss Stick Gloss in Berry Pink and Corail des Mers (not on the picture) and Guerlain Rouge Automatique in Nahema.

5 lipglosses: Guerlain Kiss Kiss in Coral Pearl and Ambre Precieuse, YSL Gloss Pur in #02, Sisley Phyto Lip Star in Rose Quartz and Guerlain Kiss Kiss Essence de Gloss in Ambre.

There is also one lip tint: Benefit Benetint.

As you can see, I have spent 4 lipglosses and 3 lipsticks (and only one is added).

1 mascara: Sublime de Chanel

1 eyebrow set: Le Sourcil de Chanel (this one will never be finished)

1 cream eyeshadow/liner: Illusion d’Ombre Mirifique

1 eyelash primer: Estee Lauder Lash Primer+ (nothing special, I’ll finish it quickly)

1 eyeshadow primer: Essence I love Stage eyeshadow base

11 eyeliners: Guerlain Loose Kohl, Sisley Phyto Khol Star, Sisley Phyto Khol Perfect (2 pieces), Essence Crazy About Colour eyeliner, Dior Waterproof (almost finished), Sephora Nano eyeliner, Givenchy Magic Kajal, Guerlain Retractable eyeliner, Urban Decay 24/7 in Zero and Bourbon.

1 lipliner: Essence

I have gotten rid of many mascaras. As for the liners, the number stayed the same (although I’d like to add some coloured ones – like navy blue, dark green or silvery grey)

1 loose powder: cK Calvin Klein

4 compact powders: Sephora Mineral Double Compact, YSL Poudre Eclat, Guerlain Meteorites in Mythic Parfait and Nacre des Mers. I have hit the pan on two (Sephora and YSL).

3 meteorites balls: Butterfly Pearls, Teint Dore, Perles d’Or (I’ll never finish either of these)

10 Guerlain eyeshadow palettes: Guerlain Ombre 4 Eclat in Perles des Mers, Brun Mordore, Duo et Liner in L’heure Fumée, Tsarina, Duo et Liner in L’heure Rose, Jeu d’Ombrelles, Mysterious Butterfly, Velours d’Or, Jeu de Nuit and Jeu de Nacres.

4 other palettes – UD BOS2, Chanel Ombres Perlées de Chanel, YSL Palette Esprit Couture, Essence Ciao Bella.

2 Benefit eyeshadows (not on the picture) – since they are a part of set, they are used only when I’m travelling.

6 mono eyeshadows: Sisley Phyto Ombre Éclat in Vanilla, Dune and Sorbet – I have hit the pan on all of them; Catrice mono in Mr. Copper’s Fields and Gilbert’s Grapefruit and Clarins mono in Nuit d’Orage

Although I use them a lot, the majority of the eyeshadows looks barely used. I’m making an effort to use them more – before I have used only BOS2 since it had a huge variety of shades available. Now, though, I’m making an effort to use at least one shade from any palette per day. I’ll consider them completely used when I’m close to hitting the pan on all the eyeshadows. Since most of them were LE, I don’t want to use them completely.

When I put it like that, it doesn’t look as scary – a total of 80 items.

It seems that eyeshadows are my weakness and definitely an item which I should cut back. There are 22 eyeshadow items (only one quarter of my stash), but keep in mind that the majority are palettes with 4 or more individual shades and that the amount of every shade on average is 1 to 1,5 grams. When I look it from that perspective, my eyeshadow stash rounds up to 16 shades from BOS2 (I have only hit the pan on one), 5 shades from Chanel palette, 4 shades from YSL palette (the palette has 9 grams!), 4 shades from Essence palette, 8 other shadows (Sisley, Benefit, Clarins, Catrice) and 36 Guerlain shades plus 2 cream eyeliners = the total of 73 different shades, which seems impossible to spend.

I’ll update on the skincare stash, too, but it won’t seem as horrible as I’m on skincare no buy for some time and I’m using samples exclusively (there’s really no need to hoard them).

Nailpolish stash as a bonus:

Thank you for looking :)

2 thoughts on “MAKE-UP STASH INVENTORY (January 2012)

Leave a Reply

