CHANEL Ombre Essentielle Soft Touch Eyeshadow in Beige Lame and Blazing Gold (Holiday 2011) Review and Swatch

Ombre Essentielle Soft Touch Eyeshadow ($28.50) is available in two shades. You should note that both shades look better on the swatch picture than in the real life. I swatched them as I usually swatch the powdery products – with my fingers. These are definitely the most disappointing items in the collection.

Blazing Gold is a shimmering gold. The texture is extremely hard and on the skin it looks like very gritty. It does not apply smoothly – you can see a particles of an eyeshadow powder.

Beige Lame is a shimmering dark beige – like a coffee with a lot of milk. The shimmer looks big, but once applied, it is almost invisible. This would be the perfect neutral colour if it weren’t for the fact that its quality is bad. I had to do a heavy swatch in order to show the colour, but the texture of this eyeshadow is horrible – it is so hard and difficult to apply.

 

The top product picture source: herblog

4 thoughts on “CHANEL Ombre Essentielle Soft Touch Eyeshadow in Beige Lame and Blazing Gold (Holiday 2011) Review and Swatch

  1. I’m glad that you’re satisfied with your eyeshadows.

    While I see where you’re coming from, I disagree with you.

    The review is based on the on-counter testing. For this reason I do not comment on how the longlasting eyeshadow on the lid is, but I think it allows me to comment the pigmentation or texture.

    If a certain brand wants to sell their products, they better make the testers good. I mean, if testers do not convince me that the product is worth purchasing, what will?

    I’m using eyeshadow since I was 10 and I have tried many brands, I can see only from swatching the eyeshadow how it will act on the lid. Every eyeshadow I have tried so far looked better (more pigmented) swatched on the skin than on the eyelid applied with a brush. These were hard, not pigmented and the golden one had horrible fall-out. I’m glad your eyperience with Chanel eyeshadows is much better than mine. I’m an eyeshadow addict who is not afraid to pay for good products, but so far I have never purchased any Chanel eyeshadow because they always come lacking.

    I also do not agree that the tester dried fast. While this might be true for the regular line, these swatches belong to the holiday 2011 collection, and they were made the same day the collection came to my country, so the testers were brand new. Also, why other eyeshadow testers do not have the same problem? I can give you several brands whose testers are still as good as the brand new product.

    Thank you for your comment.

  2. actually i don’t agree with you at all. they are really soft and silky as eyeshadows. i own many of the soft touch ombre essentielle of Chanel and love them all, especially for their texture wich applies very softly. if you just tried them on a counter i understand your judgment, because on the counter the product is always opened and dries very fast and becomes dusty. but i dont think that it is wright to call your article a review just because it is based on a swatch done on a counter. a review is more than that. you just can’t judge a product so easily, without trying it on your lids and everything and seeing its behaviour on the eyelid or whatever. that’a absolutely not fair for the product you are talking about! a review is more than swatching a product on a counter!

Leave a Reply

