GUERLAIN Meteorites in Teint Dore Review

This is the new version of Meteorites pearls, which was released in the summer 2010. The new Meteorites come in three shades: 1 Teint Rose, 2 Teint Beige, 3 Teint Dore. They come in a plastic jar (metallic on the outside), with a metal cap and a white puff.

I’ve purchased it instead of loose powder. I initially wanted to get a new Voilettes Mineral loose powder, but since there was a lack of Guerlain in my country, I couldn’t find a shade 02 Beige Clair anywhere.

After I’ve seen the swatches on Temptalia, I thought that the shade Teint Dore would be too dark for me. Nevertheless, in the store, the shade Teint Dore seemed like the best choice for my skin tone.

Teint rose seemed too light and too white, just like Teint Beige. This surprised me because I am very light (NC15 in the winter, NC 20-25 during summer). Still, I think that Teint Dore is universally flattering shade.

Teint Beige supposedly contains six different shades of pearls. I’ve taken all of the pearls out and I’ve managed to identify only five different shades: matte baby blue, matte mauve, matte bronze, matte medium beige, shimmery champagne. I have a suspicion that the sixth shade is also a medium beige, but I couldn’t precisely identify it. The colour scheme of these pearls reminds me of a never forgotten Meteorites Poudre des Perles illuminating perfecting pressed powder which was a limited edition in Summer Splash collection (Summer 2009).

I don’t have any older version of meteorites to compare it to, but I think that the new meteorites are more shimmery than the old ones. Since I wear it instead of loose powder all over the face, I need to apply it really carefully and buff it well into the skin, to avoid looking shimmery. If I do it well, the result is a luminous skin and the appearance of pores is minimized. If i’m not careful with it, the shimmer emphasizes the pores.

I apply it with an old Avon blush brush, which has the shape similar to the Meteorites brush, it only isn’t as stiff as Meteorites brush is. Sometimes I swirl the brush in the balls, but once in a while it is a good idea to pick a fallout from the bottom of the box.

What really surprised me is how good it is in the terms of oil control. To tell you the truth, I didn’t expect any oil control, but Meteorites pearls keep me matte for almost as long as a loose powder.

Since they are shimmery, the pearls could be used as a highlighter, but I prefer to use Butterfly pearls for this.

Overall impression:

—-

Guerlain Meteorites in Teint Dore – only 5 shades of the pearls I have managed to identify:

2 thoughts on “GUERLAIN Meteorites in Teint Dore Review

  1. hi,
    get the Meteorites – they are gorgeous :)
    as for the makeup prices in croatia, well, most of the high-end products are slightly more expensive than in Europe, they cost an euro or two more. Of course, you have to keep in mind that some brands (like Lancome, Estee Lauder, Clinique or MAC) are much more expensive in Europe than in the States.

Leave a Reply

