DIOR Instant Gentle Cleansing Oil Review

After my positive experience with L’Occitane Almond Apple Cleansing Oil (which is being discontinued), I wanted to find an alternative. I was considering Chanel and Dior, as this are the only two cleansing oils available in my country. I’ve chosen Dior, as it is considerably cheaper than Chanel.

Dior Instant Gentle Cleansing Oil comes in a yellow plastic bottle with pump. 200 ml retail for 28 euros (an average price for Dior cleanser).  The packaging seems really practical and hygienic but, on the other side, it is not the best possible solution. The pump has a stopper which ensures that you accidentally do not squeeze the oil out. You have to remove the stopper before pressing the pump and you have to remember to put it after. I’d prefer if the pump were like the pump on Sisley cleansing milk bottles, where you have to turn the pump in on/off direction, which is much simpler.

Also, be careful not to drop the bottle. The plastic the bottle is made of is very rigid, it feels almost looks like glass and I do not think it would survive the fall.

I use this oil primarily for make-up removing. I always follow with another cleanser.

The oil is transparent – one to two pumps are enough to cover the face. Usually, I gently massage it, until it has almost sunk in, then I add a tiny amount of water and massage further. Adding water transforms the oil into emulsion. In the end, I wipe it off with a moist cotton and all make-up is gone.

I’ve tried to use it on the eyes, but I do not recommend it. Even though my eyes are far from sensitive, and I can put literally anything on my eyes, this oil irritated me. I still use it on the eyes from time to time, because it is really great mascara remover, but I always have to be careful to keep my eyes closed all the time in order to prevent the oil getting into the eyes.

I’ve been using this oil for a bit over two weeks, and no breakouts have occurred. I have noticed that my pores seem cleaner and the blackheads on my nose seem smaller. I hope that with long-term usage, they’ll become almost invisible.

Overall impression:

Dior Instant Gentle Cleansing Oil:

—–

Dior Instant Gentle Cleansing Oil ingredients (Click to enlarge:

Leave a Reply

