AVENE Diacneal Review

For a while I was considering retinoids, so I have purchased Diacneal about half a year ago, planning to use it for a while so that my skin can build up the tolerance for the real stuff (Retin-A). However, later I’ve decided that I’ll wait for some time before getting Retin-A (plus the doctor didn’t want to give me the prescription, grrrrr).

Diacneal comes in a 30 ml tube which retails for 13 euros. The cream is yellowish golden in colour and has an unpleasant, acrid scent, which disappears upon application. If you have any open wound, no matter how tiny it is, it will sting.

Diacneal is not good under make-up, as it has a tendency to peel off.

My first encounter with Diacneal was about 5 years ago, when my dermatologist just told me to use it twice per day. As I was young and had no idea about skincare, this regime resulted with irritation, dried out skin and breakouts.

This year, I’ve been much smarter, so I’ve started by using a pea-sized amount of Diacneal three times per week. Gradually, it became four, then five and after a month, I have started to use it every night. You might experience breakouts, but it should stop after a couple of weeks. If you experience irritation, stop using it, or use it rarely and follow up with a moisturizer after a couple of hours.

It is important to keep the skin moisturized, so in the morning, I always use something moisturizing, and so far I have managed to prevent dehydration and dryness.

I did notice the improvement on my skin, but it was nothing drastic – my skin was only a bit clearer, but the pores are still expanded and I still get a lot of blackheads.

Diacneal is a good choice to try retinoids as it contains 0,1% of retinaldehyde and 6% of glycolic acid.

Overall: 4

INGREDIENTS:

Aqua, Cetyl Alcohol, Cyclomethicone, Polysorbate 60, Glycolic Acid, Avene Aqua, Alcohol, Sodium Hydroxide, BHT, Dimethicone, Parfum, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Potassium Sorbate, CI 17200, Retinal.

Leave a Reply

