GIVENCHY Photo’Perfexion Foundation Review

Givenchy Photo’Perfexion is one of the foundations I’ve been testing prior to getting Clarins Everlasting. The foundation comes in a pump bottle, and it retails for around 40 euros, but keep in mind that the bottle contains only 25ml of the foundation, whereas the standard foundation packaging contains 30ml.

My skin is oily and, while I do not have heavy acne and I am not breakout prone, I can count on one acne per week. My pores are also very expanded. In spite of this I am not a fan of full and medium coverage foundations. What I require from the foundation is minimal coverage – the foundation simply needs to even-out my skin tone, cover slight discolourations and minimize the appearance of the pores.

I’ve been seriously considering this foundations ever since it has been launched and since I’ve heard many raves about this foundations on the various boards in my country, I almost bought it without even trying it. Luckily, a very generous SA gave me four 5ml samples of this foundations in 04 Perfect Vanilla and 06 Perfect Honey. Considering the fact that the full-size bottle of foundation contains 25ml, I can only thank the SA for providing me with so much samples and saving me some money.

The foundation is medium coverage, although it is possible to build it up to full coverage. It covers imperfections well, it doesn’t emphasize pores. The good coverage doesn’t bother me, because I mix the foundation with moisturizer and that way the coverage is much lighter. The finish is natural and the face indeed looks photoshoped.

It blends well into the skin. It is pretty longlasting and won’t disappear from the skin. It doesn’t control oil and I think it is most suitable for those with normal/combination skin. It is lightly fragranced, I can barely feel the smell and it disappears after you’ve put the foundation on. It doesn’t oxidize.

It has SPF 20 PA+++ (titanium dioxide 3.16%, octinoxate (ethylhexil methoxycinnamate) 2.997%) which means that I can get away with no sunscreen during winter, but during summer I would use sunscreen.

Givenchy has a good range of shades, especially for fair skin ladies. I usually wear Dior 010 during winter and Dior 020 during summer and the shades that would match me in this foundation during summer are 04, 05 and 06. 04 is light neutral (but slightly on the pink side) while 05 has more yellowish tone. 06 is slightly darker, slightly orange. There are several even lighter shades, although their availability depends upon the country (in Croatia 03 is the lightest – this one would match me during winter).

Now, what I really dislike about this foundation (and this is what put me off of buying the full-size) is that it feels heavy.Although it blends in pretty well and I can’t see that I’m wearing a foundation if I look in the mirror, but I feel it sitting on my face and I don’t like it when I can feel that I have a foundation on. I tried to “dilute” it by mixing it with Estee Lauder Spotlight, but even then the foundation felt heavy. If I pay so much for the foundation I expect it to be a perfection and this, sadly, isn’t.

Overall:

no foundation/ Givenchy Photo’Perfexion foundation (you can click on the picture to enlarge it):

——-

INGREDIENTS:

active ingredients: titanium dioxide 3.16%, octinoxate (ethylhexil methoxycinnamate) 2.997%

Water • Cyclopentasiloxane • Isodecyl Neopentanoate • PEG-9 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone • Pentylene Glycol • Saccharomyces/Xylinum Black Tea Ferment • Butylene Glycol • Acrylates Copolymer • Silica • Cyclohexasiloxane • Acrylates/Dimethicone Copolymer • Butylene Glycol Dicaprylate/Dicaprate • Phenoxyethanol • Aluminium Hydroxide • Stearic Acid • Sorbitan Sesquioleate • Dimethicone Crosspolymer • Alumina • Glycerin • Sodium Myristoyl Glutamate • Hydroxyethylcellulose • Disodium Distyrylbiphenyl Disulfonate • Sodium Hyaluronate • Lecithin • Fragrance • Dimethicone • Sodium Citrate • Butylphenyl Methylpropional • Citric Acid • Artemisia Capillaris Flower Extract • Methylparaben • BHT • Hedera Helix (Ivy) Extract • Potassium Sorbate • Geraniol • Butylparaben • Ethylparaben • Isobutylparaben • Propylparaben • Biotin +/- (CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide • CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides • CI 77019/Mica)

Leave a Reply

