AVENE Hydrance Optimale Legere Review

Hydrance Optimale line consists of 4 moisturizers: Hydrance Optimale Legere (for combination and oily skin), Hydrance Optimale UV Legere (SPF version), Hydrance Optimale Riche (for dry skin) and Hydrance Optimale UV Riche (SPF version). I’ve been using a 5ml sample of Avene Hydrance Optimale Legere for 15 days. Full size product comes in a 40 ml tube and costs around 17 euros.

The first thing that I’ve noticed is that the smell of this moisturizer reminds me of hospital – it is very medicine-like. It took me some time to get used to it and later it didn’t bother me since it disappears upon application.

The moisturizer is thicker (a bit surprising for a product for combination/oily skin) – I’ve been expecting the texture to be more lotion-like. Nevertheless, it spreads easily and sinks in immediately.

It is moisturizing, although since it is winter I could use a bit more moisture. However, it doesn’t make me oily and I could see it as my spring/summer favourite.

Now, the bad news: Hydrance Optimale Legere breaks me out. Very much. And I rarely break out – I mean, I can put a ton of Nivea Creme or Sisleya Global Anti Age (these moisturizers are really rich) and never get a breakout, and yet Hydrance Optimale Legere breaks me out. My skin is far from perfect, but I haven’t had such a breakout ever since my teenage days. Really a shame. I could ignore a minor pimple here and there, because the moisturizer is almost like custom created for my skin, but over 10 acnes appearing at the same time is a bit too much to ignore.

In spite of the breakouts, I won’t lower the grade too much because this moisturizer is indeed amazing. Just be sure to test it before making a purchase.

Overall impression:

 

INGREDIENTS:

Water • Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride • Carthamus Tinctorius (Safflower) Seed Oil • Cyclomethicone • Sucrose Stearate • Glycerin • Butylene Glycol • Sucrose Distearate • Polymethyl Methacrylate • Benzoic Acid • Beta Sitosterol • BHT • Carbomer • Chlorphenesin • Disodium EDTA • Fragrance • Glycine Soja (Soybean) Extract • Hydrogenated Coco Glycerides • Lecithin • Phenoxyethanol • Poloxamer 188 • Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate • Sodium Hydroxide

2 thoughts on “AVENE Hydrance Optimale Legere Review

Leave a Reply

