CLARINS Everlasting Foundation Review

PRODUCT DESCRIPTION: „A comfortable, creamy, fluid texture that even complexion throughout the day. SPF 15.

- A perfect complexion: Staying power of 15 hours with a non-transfer formula with High Fidelity System.

- Non-oily, smooth texture that evens tone and enhances complexion.

- Unrivaled radiance: with Clarins exclusive Light-Optimizing Complex. Helps minimize fine lines and small imperfections.

- Optimal and continuous moisturization: plant ingredient that mimics the actions of a micro-patch, extracted from Acacia, acts like a reservoir to help skin stay supple and hydrated.

- Triple Protection: Against free radicals, pollution and UV rays.

- Dermatologist tested. Non-comedogenic. Non-oily.“

(from Clarins.com)

 

MY EXPERIENCE: For almost a year I’ve been trying to find a foundation to replace discontinued Dior Diorskin Fluide. First, after a lot of testing, I’ve purchased Dior Diorskin Airflash, which is very good (I’ll review it later), but the lightest shade is too dark for me during winter.

I’ve purchased Clarins Everlasting foundation on a whim, without any testing (very unusual of me as I like to wear a foundation for at least two weeks to see if it’s good).

I’ve chosen the lightest shade 103 Ivory (I’m NC15-20) which has a neutral undertones, so it is neither too pink nor too yellow. I could probably pull off the shade 104 Cream, but I didn’t want to risk to end up with too dark foundation. I’m very happy to say that the shade remains true during the whole day and it doesn’t oxidize.

I have to add that the shade range seems to cater to the persons with light to medium skin tone and there isn’t a large array of darker shades.

Clarins Everlasting Foundation (Fond de Teint Haute Tenue)comes in a heavy frosted glass bottle with a pump and a gold cap. It retails for $35/ 34 euros and it is among the cheaper high-end foundations. The bottle contains 30 ml. It has a wonderful light melon scent which disappears upon application. As it is mentioned in product description, it contains SPF 15 (titanium dioxide, 2%).

Clarins Everlasting is a full coverage foundation. I usually avoid such foundations because I find them too thick to blend and too cakey looking, not to mention that they emphasize every flake of dry skin, but Clarins is different. It covers absolutely everything (as you can see on the swatch), minimizes the appearance of pores and still looks natural. What I really love about it is that it doesn’t emphasize dry flakes.

The finish is luminous matte and it is not flat at all, but this foundation doesn’t control oil very well (I have very oily skin which is at the same time dehydrated). I still need to use pressed powder to combat oiliness on the T-zone.

The texture is a thick liquid, it is very creamy. It doesn’t dry immediately upon the application, so you have time to blend it. I’ve tried different ways of applying it: with my fingers, with Sephora foundation brush #47 and with Sephora mineral powder brush #45, and it looks good every time. If applied with fingers, the coverage seems slightly fuller while using a brush #45 gives an airbrushed finish.

Staying power is good, but on me the foundation doesn’t last for 15 hours; on my skin the maximum is 10 hours (without a primer!!!). Also the formula isn’t completely transfer-proof. If I use a tissue to blot, I always find a bit of foundation on the tissue.

The foundation is very easy to remove – I remove it with Sisley Lyslait cleansing milk. It hasn’t made me break-out and it is not dehydrating. After I remove it my skin feels moisturised and looks glowy.

I believe that this foundation would perform the best on those with normal to slightly oily skin. Those with oily skin should pair it up with mattifying loose powder, while persons with dry skin should use it over a moisturizer.

Overall rating:

How the foundation looks on the skin (without foundation/with foundation):

INGREDIENTS

(Active Ingredient : Titanium Dioxide 2%)

Water • Cyclomethicone • Cyclopentasiloxane • Isododecane • Butylene Glycol • Alcohol • Nylon-12 • PEG/PPG-20/15 Dimethicone • Magnesium Sulfate • PEG-10 Dimethicone • Polyglyceryl-3 Polydimethylsiloxyethyl Dimethicone • Methyl Trimethicone • Fragrance • Polyglyceryl-3 Diisostearate • Disodium Stearoyl Glutamate • Aluminium Hydroxide • Acrylates/Dimethicone Copolymer • Stearic Acid • Disteardimonium Hectorite • Ethylhexylglycerin • Silica • Disodium EDTA • Hydroxyethyl Urea • Sorbic Acid • Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract • Phenoxyethanol • Algin • Acacia Senegal Gum +/- (CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide • CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides)

3 thoughts on “CLARINS Everlasting Foundation Review

  1. I LOVE this to death, I have combination skin, with some oilier patches, and some rather dry, and it works perfectly for me. It doesn’t last a full 15 hours for me either, but it has amazing staying powers never the less. I only have one foundation that outlasts it(speaking without a primer here, with a primer, the Clarins wins), but it dries out the dry areas on my face, so I cant really use it all over. I don’t need to use a concealer with this one either, so that’s another plus!

    I remember when I bought this, it was on this cruise ship, I tried it in the store, to check the colour, but like you, it was sort of a whim, as it was on sale. I got back to my room and tried it,and I was blown away. So I ran out and bought the rest of the bottles they had in my shade. Now for some reason the distributor in the country I live in doesn’t import the 103 shade, so I’ll have to buy it online when I empty my bottles, but I will gladly do so.

Leave a Reply

